Houston, TX: Are you looking for worker’s comp assistance? Texas has strict regulations regarding workers’ compensation (“comp”), including how much you can receive, what types of injuries it covers, how to apply for it, and how to file. Here are the essential facts about workers’ compensation.
What is Workers’ Comp?
Workers’ compensation is a benefit system that pays benefits to employees who hurt or become ill due to their work. It is a type of insurance. These benefits are typically paid for by the employer’s workers’ compensation insurance provider. Employers pay premiums to the workers’ compensation insurance board in exchange for state-sponsored coverage. The premiums are dependent on many factors, including the industry and the number of employees. The premium covers all claims during the policy period.
Are Texan-based employers required to provide workers’ comp?
Employers are not required to offer workers’ compensation to their employees in Texas. However, if they do, it is mandatory. There are limitations on what type and compensation an employee can receive if they subscribe to workers’ comp. These limits are set by Texas law.
What conditions is Workers’ Comp available?
Workers’ compensation is usually available regardless of the severity of the injury. Workers’ compensation benefits might not be available if the injury was intentionally caused.
What are the benefits of Workers’ Comp?
Workers’ compensation benefits can help employees return to work after an illness or injury. These benefits can cover medical expenses, income replacement, and death benefits. Income benefits may include income replacement, temporary income, impairment income, income replacement if your body cannot perform specific duties, supplemental income if your income from impairment runs out, or lifetime income for permanent injuries.
Who is covered by Workers’ Comp
Students, workers, apprentices, or volunteers are covered if they are hurt on the job for an employer in Texas. Workers’ compensation insurance is mandatory for any company that employs at least one employee. The state mandates it.
What is not covered by Workers’ Comp?
Workers’ compensation insurance is not mandatory for self-employed workers and corporate officers. This exemption applies to essential government employees like firefighters, police officers, and correctional officers. The Texas Workers’ Compensation Act may not cover workplace injuries caused by intoxication or intentional injury.
How do you file a claim for workers’ comp?
It can be challenging to file a workers’ compensation claim. If you have any questions, it is essential to consult an attorney. Houston has many highly regarded work injury lawyers that can help you.
You have 90 days to file
First, if you are hurt on the job in Texas, you must file your claim within 90 days. Otherwise, your right to benefits may be forfeited. If you are unable or unable to file because of medical treatment, the 90-day deadline does not apply. However, you must show that you attempted to file within 90 days.
Give the necessary information
If you feel the information provided is insufficient, your employer may ask for additional information. Your claim may require additional evidence or medical records.
The insurance company will notify you if they accept or deny your workers’ compensation claim. If you are awarded benefits, your employer will be notified by the insurance company. Your employer must send the benefits award to you once they have received it.
Filing an Appeal
If your claim has been denied by your employer or your insurance company in part, you can appeal. You must appeal within 60 days of receiving the notice of denial. If your claim is denied after the appeal deadline expires, you lose your right to benefits. Workers’ compensation is insurance that protects you if you are injured at work or fall ill. Texas employers do not require it, but it may be worth it, depending on your workplace. It cannot be easy to understand all aspects of workers’ compensation. It cannot be easy to file a claim. If you need this type of insurance, it is crucial to speak with a Houston workers comp attorney.